The House of Bernarda Alba

at Hofstra University | Fri Apr 06 - Sun Apr 15

Location

Hofstra University

Joan and Donald Schaeffer Black Box Theater, Joseph G. Shapiro Family Hall, South Campus
Hempstead, NY 11549
(Map)
Tel: 5164636644

Visit Website: Website.

Date & Time

Fri, Apr 06, 2018
Sat, Apr 07, 2018
Sun, Apr 08, 2018
Thu, Apr 12, 2018
Fri, Apr 13, 2018
...and 2 more dates through Apr 15
Cost:    $10 |  $8 senior citizen
Description

THE HOUSE OF BERNARDA ALBA by Federico García Lorca

The greatest of modern Spanish tragedies, The House of Bernarda Alba is the story of a family in mourning, led by a stern matriarch. Upon the passing of her husband, Bernarda announces to her five daughters that the family will observe the traditional eight-years of cloistered mourning. Each daughter desires love, but with the doors clamped shut, they silently turn to other pursuits. Ultimately, the pressure of this caged passion leads to a tragic climax that is unrelenting in its severity and terror.

Dates/Times: April 6 through 15

Friday, April 6 and 13, at 8 p.m. Saturday, April 7 and 14, at 8 p.m. Sunday, April 8 and 15, at 2 p.m. Thursday, April 12, at 8 p.m.

Location: Joan and Donald Schaeffer Black Box Theater, Joseph G. Shapiro Family Hall, South Campus 

All Upcoming Dates:

Apr 6, Apr 7, Apr 8, Apr 12, Apr 13, Apr 14, Apr 15